Who is the Current Education Minister (MHRD) of India in 2019

In India, the Ministry of Human Resources Development is responsible for the development and regulation of education and related policies. Hence there is no education Minister in India. Actually, there is a Minister of Human Resource Development who is in overall in charge of this ministry. Education is under the concurrent list of the Seventh Schedule of the constitution of India and therefore, it is the responsibility of central as well as the state governments.


Minister of Human Resource Development (HRD)

At present Shri Prakash Javadekar is the Hon’ble Minister of Human Resource Development (HRD).  Shri Javadekar was born on January 30, 1951, in Pune. He is a member of the Rajya Sabha (upper house) and was elected from Madhya Pradesh in 2014.

A member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), he is married to Dr Prachee Javadekar and has two sons. He is also a national spokesperson of BJP. He assumed the office of the minister of HRD on July 5, 2016. Since then, he has held this portfolio.

Contact Information of HRD Minister:                                                                                                      +91-11-23782698/23782387, +91-11-23382365 (FAX)

E-mail: minister.hrd.gov.in

For General Request: request-hrd@gov.in

For Invitation: dirpbhrd@gmail.com

For Appointment: dirpbhrd@gmail.com

Education plays a significant role in balancing the social and economic fabric of India. The responsibilities of this ministry are very wide and differentiated. In order to effectively manage the work, it (ministry of HRD) works through 2 departments:

  1. Department of School Education and Literacy
  2. Department of Higher Education

For the effective guidance and regulation of programs and policies of this ministry, the human resources minister is assisted by two Ministers of State for Human Resources Development. These are:

  1. Shri Upendra Kushwaha– who oversees the Department of School Education & Literacy and;
  2. Dr Satya Pal Singh-in charge of the Department of Higher Education

Ministry of Human Resources Development

In order to build strong foundations in education and for all-round development of citizens, Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD) was created on September 26, 1985. It was created through the 174th amendment to the Government of India (Allocation of Business) Rules, 1961.

Education Ministers of India/Ministers of HRD

  1. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad–  1st Education Minister-15th August 1947-22nd January 1958
  2. Dr K. L. Shrimali (Minister of State) – between-22nd January 1958-31st August 1963
  3. Shri Humayun Kabir – between-1st September 1963-21st November 1963
  4. M. C. Chagla- between -21st November 1963-13th November 1966
  5. Shri Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed-  between -14th November 1966-13th March 1967
  6. Dr Triguna Sen- between -16th March 1967-14th February 1969
  7. Dr V. K. R. V. Rao – between -14th February 1969-18th March 1971
  8. Siddhartha Shankar Ray – between -18th March 1971-20th March 1972
  9. S. Nurul Hasan(as Minister of State)- between -24th March 1972-24th March 1977
  10. Dr Pratap Chandra Chunder- 26th March 1977-28th July 1979
  11. Dr Karan Singh- 30th July 1979-14th January 1980
  12. B. Shankaranand-                                                               14th January 1980-17th October 1980
  13. S.B. Chavan- 17th October 1980-8th August 1981
  14. Sheila Kaul(as Minister of State)- 10th of August 1981-31st December 1984
  15. K. C. Pant – 31st December 1984-25th September 1985
  16. Shri P. V. Narasimha Rao (Prime Minister)- held this portfolio 3 times: 25th September 1985-25th June 1988, 25th December 1994-9th February 1995,17th January 1996-16th May 1996
  1. Shri. P.Shiv Shankar – 25th June 1988-2ndDecember 1989
  1. Shri. V.P. Singh(as Prime Minister) – 2nd December 1989-10th November 1990
  1. Shri. Rajmangal Pandey – 21st November 1990-21st June 1991
  1. Shri. Arjun Singh – 23rd June 1991-24th December 1994, 22nd May 2004-22nd May 2009
  1. Shri. Madhavrao Scindia – 10th February 1995-17th January 1996
  1. Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee (as Prime Minister) – 16th May 1996-1st June 1996
  1. Shri. S.R. Bommai – 5th June 1996-19th March 1998
  1. Dr Murali Manohar Joshi – 19th March 1998-21st May 2004
  1. Shri Kapil Sibal – 22nd May 2009-28th October 2012
  1. Shri. M. M. Pallam Raju – 29th October 2012-25th May 2014
  2. Smt. Smriti Irani – 26th May 2014-5thJuly 2016
  3. Shri. Prakash Javdekar – 5th July 2016 -Till Date

Leave a Reply